Big things are happening in the world of cannabis. Two states have already legalized weed. Twenty-three states and the District of Columbia have legalized marijuana for medical use and three more currently have legislation underway. It seems like America is finally starting to wake up and smell the pot smoke.
But not all states are getting on board with the wave of cannabis decriminalization. Below are five of the states with the harshest penalties for marijuana possession, growing, and distribution.
In the state of Louisiana possession of up to 60 pounds of cannabis is punishable by a fine of up to $500 and/or up to 6 months in jail. Selling weed in any amount can get you 5-30 years in prison and up to $50, 000 in fines. So next time you’re at Mardi Gras and someone asks if you have any weed, just remember that selling a joint carries the same sentence as selling 60 lbs. of herb.
In Oklahoma you can spend up to a year in jail for possession of any amount of weed. If you get busted a second time you could be looking at between 2 and 10 years behind bars. And don’t even think about selling weed in Oklahoma. Selling less than 25 lbs. of weed in Oklahoma can get you 2 years to life in prison plus a hefty $20, 000 fine.
When I think of Wisconsin, I think of cheese and the Green Bay Packers. But for all of the green bowl packers in Wisconsin I must warn you to be extra careful not to get busted with weed. For first time offenders, possession of weed in any amound can carry with it up to 6 months in jail and up to a $1, 000 fine. A second offense is considered a felony in Wisconsin, and can get you up to 3 1/2 years in prison and up to $10, 000 in fines. Selling weed in any amount is also a felony in Wisconsin and 200 grams or less can get you 3 1/2 years behind bars and up to $10, 000 in fines. Any more than 200 grams and you’re looking at even more time and bigger fines.
In Texas possession of up to 2 ounces of weed can land you behind bars for up to 180 days and carries a fine of up to $2, 000. Possession of 4 or more ounces is considered a felony in Texas and carries with it even harsher penalties. But what makes Texas special is that it arrests and prosecutes more people for marijuana possession than any other state. In 2009, Texas had over 77, 000 arrests for marijuana possession.
Arizona comes in at number 1 on our list because possession of any amount of weed is considered a felony. So if you get arrested and convicted for possession of a joint….or even 1/4 of a joint, you will lose your right to vote, bear arms, and will forever have trouble getting employment. Possession of less than 2 lbs. in Arizona can land you behind bars for between 4 months and 2 year and comes with up to $750 in fines. My advice to all of you Arizona weed smokers: just move to Colorado!